History of the IATL Foundation:
The IATL Foundation was started by six visionary IATL Fellows in 1983 with their own individual donations.  The 1983 IATL President David Harney was the first IATL Foundation President, and two other founding Trustees, Grant Gruel (IATL Foundation Vice President) and Florentino Garza, were former IATL Presidents.  Earl Langdon Neal was the first Secretary-Treasurer, and Donald O’Brien was the Executive Director.  Initially, Trustee Mortimer Rosecan made substantial donations to the IATL Foundation, as did James Ackerman, who became a Trustee in 1985. In 2021, Albert Abramson, an IATL Foundation Board Trustee, left a magnificent gift of $1 million to the IATL Foundation in his Estate. We are very grateful for their contributions to the Foundation.

The IATL Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)3 entity and contributions made to it are tax deductible. Although it operates independently of the Academy, the Foundation plays a key role in supporting Academy initiatives including the Ireland Program, Restorative Justice Initiative, Anti-Trafficking Coalition, and International Collaboratives. The Foundation also supports charitable activities of other organizations whose work aligns with our mission of advancing the rule of law.

IATL Foundation Highlights: 
We extend our heartfelt gratitude to all those who have generously supported the Foundation.  Click on the video below to see the positive change that is being driven by our Academy and our non-profit partners.


Click here to donate to the IATL Foundation.