Dean's Addresses

The Dean of the Academy, nominated and elected annually, has the honor of addressing the Academy membership at an Annual Meeting on the subject of his or her choosing relevant to enhancing the rule of law and trial advocacy.  The following is a list of Deans and the titles of their addresses.  A link to a transcript of their address is provided when available.

2021 Kathleen Flynn Peterson
Video Link
2019 Paul Sreenan
Video Link
A Great and Noble Project

2018 Roman M. Silberfeld
Video Link


2017 A. Clifford Edwards
Video Link

Why Do You Hurt Me So?

2016 J. Mark White
Video Link

The Last Battle
2015 Noël M. Ferris
Video Link
Watershed Moments: Catalyst for Advocacy
2014 Richard D. Burbidge
Audio Link
Who We Are and What We Leave Behind
2013 Joseph M. Matthews
Video Link
Trial Advocacy in the 21st Century Global Village
2012 David L. Cleary Reflection - Upon the Rule of Law
2011 Herman J. Russomanno
Audio Link
Trial Lawyers: 
Our Solemn Oath to Make Democracy Work
2010 Michael W. Stitt QC 
Video Link
The Price of Liberty?
2009 Roberta D. Pichini 
Audio Link

On Turning the Corner...

The first few lines of Ms. Pichini's address
are missing from the recording.

2008 Christian D. Searcy Morituri Te Salutamus
2007 James J. Thompson, Jr.   Flood Tide
2006 William O. Whitehurst, Jr. The Justice Gap
2005 Robert T. Hall Musings on the Rule of Law in Troubled Times
2004 Dicky Grigg Minkey
2003 Thomas V. Girardi
(audio only)
The Persuaders
2002 Harold J. Hunter, Jr.    The Winds of Freedom
2001 James S. Bostwick 2001-A Case Odyssey: From Snail mail to e-mail 
2000 Broadus A. Spivey The Hero
1999 Peter C. John Respect is the Answer, Isn't It
1998 Robert L. Parks Your Lawyer Oath - You Took It, You're Stuck with It! 
1997 Robert D. Krist Trial by Jury
1996 Robert C. Josefsberg Civility
1995 Walter G Chuck  An Emerging Crisis -
The Need for a New Consensus on Professionalism in Law
1994 Richard B. Baxter   
1993 Francis Scott Baldwin Punitive Damages Revisited
1992 Wayne Fisher To Form A More Perfect Union
1991 Kenneth F. Howie  Lawyers Under Fire
1990 Richard J. Phelan Ethics in Law and Politics after Jim Wright
1989 Foster D. Arnett      The Trial Lawyer and Lawyering:
Personal Values and Perceptions
1988 G. Allan Cunningham   I See a Cloud - Revisited
1987 Aaron S. Podhurst The Status of The Lawyer and The Justice System
1986 Earl L. Neal The Supreme Court:
Reflections on the Constitutional Protection of Human Dignity
1985 Mortimer A. Rosecan Lawyer Advertising and Specialty Certification
1984 Harold R. Schmid Trial Lawyers - Redoubtable or Redundant
1983 David K. Watkiss The Litigation Explosion and the Trial Lawyer's
Changing Role
1982 Francis H. Monek Court Delay: Some Causes and Remedies
1981 Leonard Decof  Jury Trial and The Independent Bar
1980 Don M. Jackson Advocacy at the Crossroads
1979 No Address  
1978 Arch K. Schoch Search for Excellence
1977 Edward L. Savel  Ours is a Glorious Heritage
1976 No Dean   
1975 David Berger The Pursuit fo Excellence in the Law - Quo Vais IATL?
1974 David M. Harney Medical Malpractice: The Doctor's Dilemma
1973 Lee S. Kreindler World Peace Through Law and Lawyers
1972 Lou Ashe Design for a Decade of our International Academy
1971 A. Harold Frost Civility in the Courts
1970 Horace G. Brown Consumer Protection for All - But Not for Lawyer's Clients
1969 H. Sol Clark The Role of Today's Advocate
1968 John C. Frank    A History of Law - and Lawyers
1967 John J. Watts Modern Advocacy


© 2018 The International Academy of Trial Lawyers. All Rights Reserved. Site design by The Lone Designer.
5841 Cedar Lake Road | Suite 204 | Minneapolis, MN 55416 | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy
image widget