The Academy is a group of truly elite trial lawyers representing both sides of the Bar:  prosecutors and defense lawyers in criminal cases, and plaintiffs' and defense counsel in civil litigation (including business and personal injury cases).  While the majority of the Fellows come from the U.S., the Academy includes lawyers from more than 30 countries.  Fellowship is by invitation only, and trial lawyers are invited to become Fellows only after an extremely careful vetting process.



As to U.S. Fellows, the Academy's bylaws limit Fellowship to 500 active trial lawyers under the age of 70.  Upon reaching the age of 70, a Fellow retains all of his or her rights and privileges but is no longer counted against the cap of 500.  This provision assures that each year there will be openings for first-rate nominees to enter the Fellowship.


2015 Annual Meeting
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore
Santa Barbara, CA

March 18-22, 2015




Congratulations and welcome to our newly inducted Fellows.
(Click links for bios and photos)

Lisa G. Arrowood   Mark W. Haigh
James M. Bausch   Glen A. Perry
Augusta S. Dowd   John W. Phillips
Sally J. Ferguson   Cindy L. Robinson
Bryan Finlay   Patricia K. Rocha
Robert W. Finnerty   Richard E. Smith
James L. Gilbert   Bruce H. Stern


On April 26, 2014, the NE Region State Chairs hosted over
50 Fellows and Guests for their 2nd Annual NE Regional Event
at the University Club in New York City. This year's speaker was
Justice Samuel Alito who shared some of his thoughts and
experiences as a Supreme Court Justice.

We want to thank IATL Fellow Rosemary Alito for arranging
Justice Alito, and everyone who took part in the planning:     
New Jersey: Mike Griffinger, Rosemary Alito, Carl Poplar;
New York: James Kreindler, Terrence Connors, Angela Giannini;
Connecticut:  Bill Clendenen, Shaun Sullivan; Delaware: Ben Castle;
Pennsylvania:  Bill Caroselli and Ralph Wellington.